Some people think employers should not care about the way their employees dress, but the quality of work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For a long time, people wore specific types of clothing to work to show respect towards their employer and their job. Nowadays, wearing a uniform became a less serious concern in many firms, while productivity at work is the most important indicator of an employee. While some may argue that people should get back to previous customs of wearing a uniform, I believe employees should feel free to work in a type of clothing they like. To begin with, productivity and efficiency of work is undoubtedly the most important criterion defining the success of a company. Firms should actively encourage the comfort of their employees since efficiency is high when people feel comfortable in their position. However, people rarely want to wear uniforms and rather prefer more practical clothes that do not interfere with their work. For example, programmers prefer to wear free pants, since they need to sit in front of a computer for a long time, while managers wish to appear in formal clothes since those add few points to their authority. Thus, companies imposing certain types of clothing on their staff only worsen the comfortable atmosphere of a workplace. Therefore, employees should be given the freedom to choose their wardrobe for work, instead of compromising on existing requirements. On the contrary, imposing a certain dress code at work ensures the absence of discrimination. This means that people will not judge their colleagues based on clothing preferences. However, the implementation of dressing requirements raises another social issue - the lack of freedom. People who do not feel a sense of democracy at work do not build a high loyalty to their managers and in a more general sense, to their company. As a result, strict uniform rules may only increase the rate at which employees abandon their workplace. In conclusion, giving freedom of clothing is crucial for maintaining high performance at the workplace, hence, more companies should consider implementing a free dress code for their employees.