You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Education has become a very important part of a person's upbringing in the modern world. It provides people with many opportunities that will determine their lifestyle and social status in the future. Some parents believe that their kids should put all their focus and time into their studies while leaving no space for other skills like sports and cookery. I strongly disagree with this fact as I believe physical education and basic skills like cooking should be treated as equally important as education. Childhood is very crucial for human beings as it is the time when they not only develop physically but mentally as well. This is the time when they soak in everything that surrounds them and acquire skills and values that help them in adulthood. Activities like cooking and sports form a strong foundation for the kids. Adding them to a kid's schedule, not only makes them learn basic life skills, but also discipline, time management and teamwork. For instance, many schools in the UK have added physical education to their curriculum and it has proven to be a very positive development for the students. Secondly, adding extra-curricular subjects helps children that are not very academically inclined, and with this they can choose a vocation of their own choice. This way, they find something that they can perform better at. However, a section of people believe that young people should focus more on academic work to succeed in life. They believe that society needs scholars like doctors, nurses and engineers. Even though this is valid for the young ones who want to get scholarships or get through difficult entrance exams, they still need to perform some sports or have a few hobbies to relieve the stress that comes with it. In conclusion, while education should be mandatory for everyone, I still believe that non-academic subjects should be included in a school's syllabus. That is because it not only acts as an option for students who have interests in other fields but also helps in the physical and mental growth of children who still want to continue higher studies.