Many inhabited areas of the world have been affected by severe flooding in recent years. What are some of the causes of this phenomenon? What can be done to prevent it from happening?

Natural disasters have had a devastating impact on many urban areas. Specifically in recent decades, intense floods have been happening frequently. In this essay, some of the important causes of the rise of flooding would be addressed, and some efficient steps which could be taken to tackle the issue will be presented. One of the first problems that causes occurring these floods, is deforestation. The rise of destroyed forests results in the soil losing its protection, there are not any roots to block soil and water while flooding. Brazil, for instance, owing to unexpected drought in recent decades, lost a significant amount of green zones. Consequently, flood damage in cities has increased annually. Some possible solution to prevent flooding is that governments from different countries should make reasonable action by law. For example, governments should create more forests by planting more trees according to a specific plan. In addition, stricter laws, should protect the existing forests. Also by raising awareness encourage every person to protect plantations.