Many teenagers are encouraged by their parents to get a part-time job. What are the advantages and disadvantages of teenagers working part-time?

Nowadays, many parents encourage their children to have part-time paid positions. Some people think it brings many benefits, while many don’t. In my opinion, it has both demerits and merits, and it will be explained below. Obviously, working part-time benefits teenagers in myriad ways. The most noteworthy positive point is experience. In other words, it is quite beneficial for teenagers to do part-time employment. Consequently, if they are part-time workers, they can gain a lot of experience by facing reality. For instance, if adolescents wish to establish their own cafeteria start-up business, they would need to study how the cafeteria actually works by experiencing casual work as a waiter or waitress. Another merit is finance, working not only brings youths experience but also money. By earning a living by themselves, they are capable of buying something they like thanks to the allowances obtained from their freelance job. Despite the merits mentioned above, I personally believe that there are some negative impacts. To begin with, one of the primary effects is a lack of focus on education. Indeed, some teens rusk to work to gain wages, and hence that affects their studying performances because working part-time is time-consuming. Furthermore, they are exposed to various types of people in the working environment, and it is possible that they can be affected by mean persons. For example, serving in a night bar club, young waiters may be at risk of being approached by heroin-addicted guys. Unfortunately, they may be seduced to the danger of cocaine-based drugs if they do not know how to protect against bad behaviour contamination. In conclusion, this trend may bring both advantages and disadvantages. It belongs to each person whether it is a demerit or merit. It is advisable that parents need to consider their child’s abilities before making a decision whether to encourage their child to have a part-time job or not.