Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

Nowadays, there is a current tendency in which sciences subjects are not being chosen by students in many nations around the world. In this essay, I will explain possible reasons why this is happening as well as how this may impact on society. To begin with, young people are being more involved in social media and technological advances, which directly impact their lives and their interests. That is why youngers are currently choosing to study Information Technology subjects, as well as marketing and business. The popular usage of social media around the world is also attracting people to become influencers on Instagram, Tik Tok and YouTube, turning this into a career. Another reason why students are choosing to study other subjects rather than sciences could be due to the salaries that scientists have, which may not be as high as other professions’ income. Therefore, young people may be influenced by all these aspects when deciding what kind of job they want to do in the future. On the other hand, if nations cannot generate enough scientists, this would impact negatively on society as they are critical to sustaining social development. For example, in the medical sector is fundamental that new doctors and nurses keep joining public and private health care. Populations are growing as well as medical conditions in older people, increasing the demand for appropriate attendance. Another strong negative impact on society would be the shortage of scientific research, which may slow down science development in diverse areas like pharmaceutics or environmental preservation. In conclusion, the shortage of scientists may be caused by the new interests that youngers have had in social media and technological advances in informatics, besides the highest incomes they can access through professions such as social media influencers or developer programmers. This situation may be detrimental to societies, as they need science professionals to keep developing and growing knowledge and discoveries to serve humankind's demands in the present and the future.