Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

Nowadays people are arguing that universities should train students in pragmatic skills to connect to their careers in the future. However, some others contend that schools should provide knowledge no matter if it is practical for the future or not. I think both those points are equally essential, and universities should not sacrifice either of them. Firstly, it would be treacherous for pupils to merely acquire skills needed in the workplace. What if their skills are replaced by cutting-edge technologies that are thriving and might overtake their responsibilities? For instance, a translator’s job may be taken over by an artificial intelligence app, and if translating is the only skill and knowledge a student has, one will never find a place to stretch in one’s career. On the other hand, it would be mundane if a university only demand their student to memorize theoretical theses such as math and physics, due to the vulnerable connection to the real world for a worker to apply. Furthermore, the skills and knowledge students are equipped with in schools do not have a direct relationship to their careers. People’s interests might shift through time, and the most important thing is to constantly re-skill, to be as erudite as possible, and to have the ability not only to survive but also to improve the world. The main function of a university, or education in general, for me, is to build up informed individuals capable of navigating the complexities of the modern world. So, it is indispensable for schools to provide classes related to both knowledge and practical skills and let students explore themselves in different aspects while maintaining their enthusiasm for learning. Once they find their belonging field, they will devote themselves wholeheartedly without hesitation to their chosen career. Therefore, I think a university has to include different shades of lessons to embark students.