More and more companies are allowing employee to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, there is an increasing trend that employees are entitled to a flexible working mode by their companies. From my perspective, I think that its advantages outweigh its disadvantages, which will be demonstrated with relevant support in this essay. Obviously, flexible working brings many advantages in myriad ways. The most noteworthy positive point is that home-based wage-earners are released from the need to struggle through the crows and traffic to get to the office, giving them more time in the day to do the things they need and want to do. For example, they can have an enjoyable breakfast in no rush or take a nap after lunch. Moreover, the staff’s health would be improved if unnecessary exposure to air pollution during commuting is avoided. Additionally, the transportation allowances may be reduced significantly for those companies where a remote working regulation is permitted. In brief, people are probably supportive towards a flexible workplace. On the other hand, the downsides of remote work cannot be ignored. One of its primary adverse impacts is a lack of focus. For instance, many remote workers, especially women, are distracted by children when they are working out of the office. It is very difficult for the white-collar workforce to stay focused due to many distracting factors at home like unexpected noises or long phone calls. Another drawback is that homeworking can lead to increased social isolation for labourers, which can gradually harm physical health and mental well-being. In conclusion, virtual work has both advantages and disadvantages. there are several positives such as no commuting, more available time schedules, and being cost-effective, that companies enable flexible work policies. However, the negatives should not be forgotten and include distractions and poor social interaction. It is my conviction that work-from-home policy has more positive impacts than negative ones.