Smoking not only harms the smoker but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking has contributed significantly to poor public health worldwide. It is proven scientifically that passive smoking is equally dangerous as smoking. Public smoking has long been a subject of debate. In this essay, I will outline why it is imperative to put a ban on social smoking and its debilitating effects on our bodies. Smoking has numerous negative effects on our overall well-being. Being around a smoker forces us to inhale the same air and carcinogens that a cigarette contains. Furthermore, tobacco particles ought to stay in the respiratory tract of all the people who are inhaling the smoke surrounding the smoker. For the same reason, it is important that public places have smoking rooms for regular smokers so non-smokers do not have to suffer from health consequences. Although, this is not enough to manage this nuisance just by building smoking rooms. Government should take responsibility and strict measures regarding issuing a penalty for public smokers. Moreover, social smoking has negatively impacted the healthcare costs associated with smoking-related illnesses are substantial, and public smoking contributes to this burden. By smoking publicly, individuals indirectly impose healthcare costs on society as a whole, as the treatment for smoking-related diseases puts a strain on healthcare systems and taxpayers. Thus, enforcing a ban by the authorities will greatly impact public health in a positive way. In conclusion, I strongly advocate enforcing a ban on public smoking and a huge penalty for people who continue smoking in public areas as they violate the rights of non-smokers and not only put their own health at risk but also the bystanders.