Nowadays it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, some people experience problems when they are not able to pay their debts back. In your opinion, do the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, people are constantly falling for the debt trap of the credit card companies due to the fact that their cards can be obtained and used to purchase things very conveniently. Although the use of credit cards may have certain benefits, I firmly believe that the drawbacks far outweigh the advantages. Firstly, credit cards are significantly easier to use compared to other means of purchasing products or services. For instance, one can book flights, hotels and purchase other amenities by using it while they are planning a trip. The most enticing factor of credit cards is that spenders don’t need to have the money at the time of spending, which in turn can lead many to spendly recklessly. Furthermore, the users can obtain several perks and presents from the companies by utilising their cards, which in reality are not actually rewarding when the amount of money being spent is taken into consideration. Furthermore, using a credit card means that people are temporarily borrowing from respective companies. Therefore, if not used mindfully, this can be extremely dangerous and may lead them on the path of endless debt. Many people, especially those in lower class of developed countries primarily face this problem as the cost of living is substantially high and wages are inproportionately in proportionately low. They are being used by many to throw lavish parties and live the lifestyle of elites for a short period of time as a means to escape distressing reality. After a period of time, they won’t be able to pay the money back and everything they own such as their houses and cars will be confiscated by the companies. In conclusion, it is evident that the advantages are far outweighed by the severe consequences as a result of using credit cards. Therefore, credit card system is one that only benefits the capitalized corporations and does not do any good for the public.