An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why are more people choosing to have operation to change the way they look? Do you think this a positive or negative development?

Cosmetic surgery is an effective way to change the appearance of a person. The prevalence of individuals changing the way they look is increasing. I think people do it because they are not satisfied in their appearance and the cost of cosmetic surgeries is decreasing which I believe, are negative developments. The reason why people are not satisfied with their looks and still under goes surgeries despite the high price and negative effects is due to the appearance of celebrities and influencers, who sets the standard image of a person. For example, models like Kendall Jenner, who posted her doll-like appearance in social media platforms where most of the people spends their time. This action may lead to negative effects especially in teens and young adults because it could distort their minds and attitudes to themselves and to other people. Those who are emotional vulnerable could also experience mental health problems such as depression and anorexia. Additionally, due to the advancement of medical science, the price of plastic surgeries is getting cheaper, where even low to middle-class earners able to afford the operations. For instance, many facilities in South Korea are able to increase their revenues because of the low prices they offer on operations like a double-eyelid surgery. Most of the Koreans are born with one eyelid only and in their country, having two eyelid is considered beautiful which was influenced by the western nations. In conclusion, I think this should be seen as a negative development because individuals are not able to be contented with their looks due to the appearance they have seen from other people and the rate of getting cosmetic surgeries nowadays is cheaper.