Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely known that many ready-made foods and drinks are made of a substantial amount of sugar and high consumption can lead to serious health issues. Many believe that raising the price of sugary products can discourage high consumption of those products. I agree that increasing the purchase price can be the most efficient way to make people consume less sugar. The reason people buy products with high content of sugar is that they are cheaper and easily accessible than healthy goods. For example, we can clearly see that drinking water bottle is more expensive than most soft drinks on supermarkets’ shelves. This leads to a constant purchase of sugary drinks to quench the thirst. Therefore, an increasing number of global populations have been facing chronic diseases such as obesity and diabetes. Imposing a higher tax on unhealthy goods is a practical way to stop over-consumption as the business normally passes down the tax expenses to end consumers by marking up on purchase price. This effectively discourages the buying behaviour of consumers as one of the primary reasons for their purchase is that the unhealthy products are low priced. There are a few other strategies which the government and businesses can collectively implement to promote the well-being of the community. Healthcare institutions should undertake campaigns which inform the public of the benefits of healthy eating to our bodies. Some are addicted to unhealthy foods such as soft drinks simply because they are unaware of the serious consequences of unhealthy foods on their health. In addition, businesses should practice ethical way of marketing instead of deceiving the customers about the ingredients of the products and their benefits. For instance, in Singapore, it is mandatory for pre-packaged drinks to have nutrition stickers which indicate the level of sugar content. To conclude, consuming sugary products can have a detrimental impact on health and measures such as increasing products ’ prices, health campaigns and ethical marketing practices can effectively enhance people’s buying decisions for their health benefits.