Traffic congestion and air pollution are becoming problematic in most cities around the world. People must be encouraged to use their cars less and public transport more. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common opinion among individuals which states that most cities in the world are struggling with traffic congestion and air infection and they offer some solutions for instance encouraging people to use public transport instead of their own cars. This a viewpoint with which I entirely agree. To begin with, It is obvious that burning fossil fuels in the car are one of the main causes of atmospheric pollution. Initially, there should be some prevention laws for using fewer cars and replacing them with other green vehicles for instance a hybrid car or a bicycle. More importantly, increasing the number of public transportation vehicles or even a culture of carpooling would be a great help in reducing the emission of hazardous pollutants. Moreover, traffic jams are an inseparable part of modern city life. Primarily, having a number of cars on the roads result in inadequate roadway capacity and a long line of cars,especially during rush hours. Secondly, the more cars on the streets the more accidents will occur which would help bumper-to-bumper traffics. Some people might argue that, using private cars over public transportation would not be helpful in air pollution or traffic congestion since there are a dozen manufacturers in cities which emit more unwanted pollution compared to cars. In my opinion; however, this idea is rather groundless. In conclusion, I personally believe that every effort from individuals would be helpful in any type of pollution especially air pollution since it could be dropped off by using more public transportation and it has the side benefit of reduced traffic jams.