Today social skills are being more and more emphasized by employers. Some people believe that social skills are important besides good qualifications for their job success.

Nowadays, it is believed that a growing number of recruiters often have a tendency for employing those who are capable to co-operate with their co-workers while others argue that both social skills and stellar credentials play an important role in advancing their career. In my opinion, I firmly concur with possessing good social skill, apart from an academic qualification, are the main key to gaining a promotion in their future ladder. Undeniably, formal qualifications play a vital role in one's career because they are totally good indicators of a person's capability and specialized knowledge. Taking Vietnam as an example, since all employers attach importance to a CV, every applicant would be removed from the first round without academic skills. It is not worth it for all employers to employ those with no qualifications to thrive in a company to become more competitive. In addition, if there is no in-depth knowledge in terms of any fields such as hospitality, academic education, medicine and science, a majority of people could not compete with other candidates and stand a little chance of being hired, let alone getting a promotion. However, having good qualifications could not guarantee one's career success, so there are some compelling reasons why people who are good at social skills gain a better chance in the workplace. Firstly, since most people rarely work individually and virtually rely on teamwork to get the best result, a person who has excellent interpersonal skills is likely to build a good relationship with their colleagues and perform better at work. In contrast, those who lack such crucial skills may suffer from isolation and miscommunication and triggering conflict among workers, hindering the overall working process. In short, people who possess good communication skills may often gain the love and the trust of their co-workers and stand a higher chance of advancing their careers. In conclusion, I believe that interpersonal skills are the main key for employers to find out suitable positions for every applicant.