Some people believe that individuals should be allowed to own a gun as a means to protect themselves and their families. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a conflicting view on whether a person should own a gun or not to defend themselves and their families. I completely disagree that an individual should own a weapon because owners could unexpectedly use it for other purposes and children might curiously trigger the weapon. Moreover, ownership of guns can pose a threat to families because there is a possibility that it can be used accidentally. Other members of the family might use weapons for agenda such as revenge on someone they hate. Children might find the gun and accidentally use it. For instance, there were reported cases where the guns were left attended by parents and the child was able to unlock the safety lock of the gun and pulled the trigger. I believe that situations like these could be prevented if the family do not possess guns and the government must ensure the community that they are safe. Furthermore, an individual that owned a gun may use it for other purposes. Especially if this person has mental health issues such as schizophrenia, which may act dangerously to other people. For example in the USA, there were cases that a person murdered all the students and teachers inside the classroom without a reason. These unfortunate scenarios could lead to trauma for the survivors and the families they have left. I do think that these consequences could be avoided and must be not allowed to happen. In conclusion, I completely disagree that an individual should not have a gun in order to protect their families because this could end a tragedy in the family and the different attitudes of a person owning a weapon is unpredictable.