Some people say that children who find subject as mathematics and philosophy difficult don't have study them at school. These subjects should be optional, not compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are people who believe that subjects like philosophy and mathematics should not be mandatory for students who struggle to learn them. However, I completely disagree with this notion owing to compelling reasons. To begin with, courses like mathematics are the foundation of other majors. That is, if students do not have such courses at school, they will not show good performance in college. Take a college student who wants to study art for example; because he does not have a good understanding of maths, he is less likely to become a successful painter for excel in this subject students should acquire basic knowledge of maths. Another rational argument against this idea is that it is hard for school authorities to distinguish between students who have difficulties learning a subject and the ones who just being lazy. In other words, many subjects seem difficult at first, but when students put their time and effort into them, they eventually will see the results. Therefore, if these subjects become optional, some students do not bother to try to make progress. For example, an elementary student may find philosophy hard to understand, so he asks to withdraw from the course. As a direct consequence, it is more probable that these students do not try hard when they face a milestone when they become adults. To sum up, considering the point discussed above, making important courses optional is a bad idea because it has a negative impact on student future education, and make them less competitive.