Some experts think that all students should learn musical instruments. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, some professional scholars believe that all pupils need to learn musical instruments. In my opinion, I partly agree because there are some benefits to learning music whereas this activity is not an obligation for everyone. On the one hand, it is an indisputable fact that learning to play a musical instrument can enhance cognitive skills, such as memory and attention. If students want to play a song perfectly, they need to keep focus on the rhythm and memorize the sheet music. In addition, learning an instrument helps students to develop their strong discipline. They need to spend a part of their free time practising the song for a long period, this could become a good habit for perseverance. This could be a valuable personality trait when they face difficulty in the future and would not easily give up. Furthermore, music has been shown to have positive effects on mental health and well-being. This led to music as a medical therapy to reduce people’s anxiety and stress. On the other hand, learning a musical instrument is not every student’s obligation. To learn one thing could be viewed as an interest that should not be coerced to carry out. Otherwise, learning music courses may not be suitable for all students, it depends on their talent and how much passion they have. Besides, it is necessary to encourage students to engage in diverse extracurricular activities to boost their creativity. This might probably expand their various learning fields and strengthen their individual perspectives. In conclusion, some people believe that all students should participate in music courses due to building their good personality and health benefits in their young learning phase. However, learning an instrument was not a responsibility for pupils and learning in a diverse region would be a more suitable method for them.