Social media helps people to keep in touch with friends and stay on top of news and events. Do you think the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, internet-based media are more beneficial for people in terms of maintaining relationships with loved ones and staying updated with the news. Converse that, it is a leading time waster and leads to some mental illnesses. Despite its,drawbacks I strongly believe that online social platforms provide greater convenience for human lives. On the one hand, present human life adheres to a tight schedule in their daily activities. Hence they do have not enough time to keep intimate relationships with others even family members. The issue has been successfully resolved by this new technology. Sophisticated apps like Facebook, WhatsApp and Twitter are used by individuals in several ways. Firstly it helps to maintain a home-like relationship with each other. For instance, people who are live apart from their families use this hi-technology in a cheaper way to stay connected with each other in every important step in their life. It helps to create family-like nature among them and leads to increase family bonds. Secondly, recently hi-tech applications are emerging as a leading news provider in the media context. Due to this reason, now the world is a fingertip away from the person. On the other hand, increased screen time is a considerable time waster among users. When someone goes through these apps they do not consider other works not only that but also it is caused many mental illnesses. The high-profile companies which are invented these technologies always trying to keep up their users with them. To fulfil that requirement they create contents which are caused to increase the dopamine levels in subscribers. These elevated dopamine levels are a reason to develop some mental issues such as depression and addictions. For example, some suicidal incidents are reported recently among school children due to this social app addiction. In conclusion, Due to recent technological advancements social media act a big role in order to keep relationships with each other’s and keeping updated about the latest news. Apart from that it’s caused to waste the time and some mental issues. But I believed that its advantages outweigh the disadvantages.