In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is not uncommon to see people in modernized regions live by themselves in small apartments. While some believe that the drawbacks of this phenomenon outweigh its advantageous, however, I personally reckon that this is a positive trend for personal development. Firstly, living on one's own promotes an independent living environment as one will have more private spaces. They will find it more convenient and enjoyable to pursue their passions outside their work arrangement and professional lives, without being concerned that their activities may interrupt other members. For example, some individuals often gravitate towards musical instruments such as piano, guitar or violin, and these types of hobbies can be quite loud. As such, living in a nuclear family eliminates the concerns of having to consider other factors such as the opinions of others or bearing responsibilities for them. As a result, they find extra time to think and spend their own, which is incredibly essential for their personal growth. In addition, economic security is another major reason for people to choose live by themselves or in small family sizes. Nowadays, individuals play different roles in their personal and professional lives they have perspective responsibilities to carry, and forming a small-sized unit can ease off some financial burdens off their shoulders when someone lives by themselves, or just as a couple, or having only a single child along with them. For instance, they can easily make extensive calculations of their daily expenses in the house, including electricity bills, water bills or management fees, to how they can manage their financial conditions to provide a quality and decent life for their children. Moreover, saving a considerable amount of money for unexpected future emergencies or events would also be easier for them as they do not have to always fend for other members, which allows them to avoid unmanageable expenses. On the other hand, the downside of living alone in small-sized units is reduced human interaction. Having a self-isolated lifestyle means that individuals may have no one to talk to when they get home, and they cannot share their feelings over some happenings during the day or have discussions on difficult circumstances. For example, they forgo the constant stimulation and hustle and bustle of a large family and are left to their own devices for extended periods. Instead of having meaningful conversations with their family members, they devote most of their leisure time to binge-watching episodes or surfing the internet relentlessly. Therefore, this may weaken the bonding with loved ones and create a sense of isolation. In conclusion, I believe that leading an independent life in a nuclear family encourages the development of a person's passion and a better financial arrangement towards a high living standard, even though such a lifestyle may weaken family relationships and promotes self-isolation.