Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution prob- lems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Increasing the price of petrol absolutely affects transportation aspects in the world. While some argue that increasing the petrol tariff can reduce traffic and pollution problems, others contend that this phenomenon will not affect both much. This essay will explore both perspective and personal opinions on the matter and also the effective measures to tackle these issues. Firstly, the rise in gas prices will make society think twice to use private vehicles. Every person will suddenly affect by this rise, especially low-middle-income people. They can't afford gas as much as before the increase in gas cost. For example, the sale of gas in Indonesia dropped by 35% when the government decided to remove the subsidized gas in June 2022 and reduced traffic by 20%. But, on the other hand, these effects will not last long. Upper-middle income families still can afford the gas. As data speak, 70% of car ownership in Indonesia is owned by upper-middle-income families. Furthermore, more people in the world, especially 57% of people in Indonesia, don't have adequate access to public transport. As a result, they are forced to use their own vehicles to mobilize every day. Nowadays, the intensity of traffic in Jakarta is even higher than before the authority's decision. In my respective opinion, aligning with this paragraph, increasing the gas price is just a short-term measure to tackle traffic and pollution problems. To conclude these discussions, I believe that there must be greater decisions that the ministry must take to tackle both problems. The government will have to build and develop more public transport in urban and rural areas. Decreasing the dependency on private vehicles can significantly reduce 30% of air pollution. However, even if the petrol price is rising, the transportation costs can still be reduced if the transport volume of each vehicle increases, both for freights and passengers.