New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages overweigh the disadvantages?

There is an irrefutable fact that the way children spend their leisure time has been changed by state-of-the-art technologies. While there are a number of drawbacks of this trend, I am of the opinion that benefits are greater. Relaxing in free time via using technological devices have the possibilities of affecting children ’s health in many factors especially with the eyes problems. Spending much time sticking eyes on screens means that their eyes have to work harder and drier than usual which contributes to short-sightedness. For instance most kids in the present have the tendency of watching online video at home instead of going out and doing some outdoor activities. A survey taken by FTU university in Vietnam has shown that there has been a significant increase in the number of children who have short-sightedness recently. On the other hand, new technologies play a vital role in helping children improve their technological basic skills. Since when children use cutting-edge devices regularly as recreational activities, they find it is easier to practice these skills, which helps them much in their future occupation as now we are living in the era of information technology development. For example it can be easy to be seen that in the current society, many children are able to use computers proficiently. Many people at a very young age like 6-7 year-old children are capable of using technological equipment better than adults. Furthermore, using technologies in leisure time can be beneficial to children in education. Technologies have made it more convenient for kids to access information that they need for the subjects that they find interesting in discovering. They are able to use search machine to get access to educational apps online such as Duoling - a language learning app so as to broaden their knowledge and foster passion for learning. In conclusion, although technological advances can sometimes affect children ’s health, I hold the belief that the benefits are greater as they help children find learning more enjoyable.