Some people think that the support of celebrities for international aid organisations draws attention to their causes, while others think celebrity support makes their causes seem less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today's media-driven world, the involvement of celebrities in supporting international aid organizations has become a common phenomenon. Although having a celebrity front an international aid organisation can help raise awareness for their cause, some argue that this just draws attention away from the real issue. I agree with the latter and I will discuss details in this essay. On one hand, those in favour might argue that high-profile personalities garner greater support because, as a pop-culture-driven society, we are more likely to follow where the rich and famous lead. Celebrities possess a vast reach and influence through their massive fan base and media presence. Their involvement often emanates extensive media coverage, which brings the spotlight to otherwise neglected or overlooked causes. The public's interest is piqued, leading to increased donations, volunteerism, and engagement. For instance, the prompting of protecting environment from the likes of Johnny Depp or Beyoncé will bring more attention to their fan base and then resonate to many people to take action. On the other hand, I hold humanity in a much higher esteem. Consider the many floods and bushfires that ravage Australia each year, people can pull together to feed, house, and clothe victims without any need for celebrity intervention. Moreover, there is the potential for celebrities to use a good cause to prop up their sagging careers or detract from it via the “guilty-by-association” mindset so prevalent in our still maturing collective psyche. The “tall poppy” falls from grace, and everything (and everyone) with whom they are associated is also thrown into doubt. In conclusion, those of us who prefer our charities star-free are arguing for a clear separation of heart and ego and a deeper trust in humanity‘s inherent goodness. As we eventually outgrow this “fame equals value” nonsense, I believe we will see a steady decline in celebrity representation for charities of all kinds and a sharp increase in our collective intelligence. As for our capacity to care (for me, at least), it was never in question.