Some people think that hosting an international sport event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

There is a conflicting view on whether holding an international sporting event will benefit the host country or not. In my opinion, the contribution of hosting those events will be good for the tourism of a nation and for the small businesses to increase their revenues. Moreover, hosting an international sports event will greatly contribute to the improvement of a nation because of the revenues it will produce in tourism, hospitality and other sectors. Investing in the sports facilities to improve the conditions will be good a start. For instance, the Philippines has developed its sports centres which hosted the SEA games last 2019 and helped the country to introduce the culture also able to produce job opportunities. The profits made will contribute to the funds of the government and the cost of building was worth it because they were able to gain income. I believe that holding sports events is good because it will boost the local economy of a nation. However, the aftermath of these sporting events was not desirable for many people because of the waste produced and the possibility of not being able to maximize the facilities. For example, Rio de Janeiro in Brazil hosted the Olympics in 2016. Foreigners coming from different countries have visited the country to watch the sporting event however, the nation has accumulated a large number of waste which added to the growing list of problems. Furthermore, they were images that surfaced on the internet that the sports centres were already abandoned and dirty because no one is using the facilities. Nonetheless, I believe that the consequences of such an event could have been prevented by implementing rules and guidelines in waste management and the abandonment could have been avoided by allowing the public to use these sports centres. In conclusion, although the outcome of sporting- event will produce waste and lead to the abandonment of the facilities which could be avoided, hosting sports events will contribute more to the betterment of the economy of a nation by boosting its tourism and local businesses.