Some people think that government should invest more money in teaching science than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that governments should spend more money on teaching science than other subjects in order to develop and progress a country. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this statement for reasons outlined in the essay below. One cogent reason why I disagree could be that not only science but also cultural subjects are important, too. We can not deny the necessity of learning history, literature,... for students nowadays. For example, history helps you comprehend vividly about how your country fighted to have peace or how soldiers fell for your country. If governments invested more money on teaching science than other subjects, students would not know about the achievements of their ancestors. They need to proceed and continually develop their traditional values. To add further credence to my assertion, I think that developing a country by spending too much money on science will lead people to mechanical personalities and a lack of love. Science does not teach a person how to love other people or how to help a poor person in the street. For example, mechanical people only say at least as much as possible instead of saying love to each other more. Giving prominence to science causes an arid soul and leads to the end of the world. In conclusion, I am in complete disagreement with the view that governments should invest more money in teaching science than other subjects to develop a country because it is due to mechanical personalities and arid souls for humans.