As housing is a basic need for people, the government should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Poverty is becoming a major issue all over the globe. However, accommodation is a basic necessity of the masses. I do not agree with that notion because governments should give free houses to needy people as it would be a practical solution for the homeless. That is not deniable that there are a plethora of reasons why governments help poor people. To explain it more, in many countries, governments introduce a housing sahay yojna by which needy people meet their requirements. For example, the Government of India made 20,000 apartments every year for those who cannot afford it due to which, needy people can buy them easily and live a peaceful life. On the other hand, If a government started providing houses to all individuals, it would be affected the economy. It is not possible to make millions of houses at the expense of the government. Government has too many other works for a nation such as providing equipment for defence, giving workers salaries, and many others. They also have to give that money to health care, and basic education and maintain other infrastructure of the country by which people can be educated ad not rely on anyone. Moreover, in every country, people choose to free things rather than work harder. To explain it, If authorities provide a free home scheme, the masses stop working hard tempted to meet House. For instance, BBC News revealed that 20% of Americans do not want to do the job because they get two-time meals from the government. Hence, the unemployment rate is increased compared with the past in the USA. In conclusion, although the home scheme is beneficial with several terms such as low-budget houses, it is not possible for millions of citizens in the country.