Large businesses have big budget for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Big companies have allocated a high portion for advertising which cause the public to buy their products. This is because marketing has a way in people to make them buy goods impulsively. The government has the capability of influencing society to become devoted towards its nation. Advertising has led people to buy products impulsively even though it is not necessary. For instance, individuals keep on changing their mobile phones every year despite the device is working fine. This is because of the new features that mobile giants like Apple and Samsung offer to the public. Additionally, promotions from different social media platforms and applications make it difficult for people not to forget. However, people should know how to live within their means because sometimes there are individuals that blame the authority even though it is their decisions that make them suffer. Furthermore, the government must play a crucial role in encouraging their people to buy locally-made goods. Planting the mindset of nationalism in society that locally-made products could compete with their international counterparts. A good example would be the Japanese people, their inclination towards local goods and refusal of imported goods make their economy flourish and make it one of the strongest economies in the world. They set the standards of how nationalism could greatly affect the state of an economy. In conclusion, these huge promotions of big companies make a person impulsively buy unnecessary things and this could be halted by the government because they have the power to spark the national pride of the country.