“Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?”

In this modern era, the usefulness of public libraries may be weakened by the wide availability of online resources. Hence, some may suggest that the government should spend less expenditure on advanced media and only provide books. In my belief, libraries still hold a firm stance in society. Undoubtedly, libraries should keep providing a large variety of resources by equipping high-tech facilities. First and foremost, it is a public place which allows the community to have access to different resources such as journal articles and tutorial videos. In order to benefit the public as a whole, it should not be restricted to offering book borrowing services only. Moreover, some low-income families highly rely on the technology equipment in libraries. For example, if they do not have any electronic devices, which may be unaffordable to them, at home, they usually make use of computers or Ipads there to complete their assignments. Furthermore, it also profoundly contributes to media history and facilitates cultural heritage because it contains a lot of historic and valuable documents and DVDs. Despite the usefulness of public libraries, it is unarguable that they are losing popularity in society. With the rapid developments on the Internet, people are more likely to do research online, instead of in libraries so they gradually give lukewarm reviews on them. Apart from it, those resources like magazines and journal articles, which were originally limited to public facilities only, can now be easily read via several media. For instance, the University of Queensland also has an online library for students to read books or reports digitally. Therefore, people may doubt the necessity of libraries. To sum up, it is undeniable that public libraries may not be as widely used as before, I still think that it greatly benefits the community, especially minorities, by offering advanced technical support to them.