In today’s society, the media plays a significant role in shaping public’s opinion and influencing people’s behaviour. What problem can arise from the media’s influence and how those issues can be addressed.

Nowadays, the influence of media sources on public opinion is undeniably high. As a result, having all this power, they can distort the interpretation of current affairs, altering reality, but this issue can be mitigated if a system of checks and balances exists. The main problem with media shaping public opinion is that they can interpret news and events in any way, creating an enormous space for half-truths or even direct lies. Obviously, every media outlet has its goals, often prioritizing financial interests. In other words, they do not care what information they present or how they interpret it, as long as it attracts more views, viewers, and ultimately more profits from commercials. Furthermore, some media outlets can function as propaganda machines, serving specific political parties or governments. Undoubtedly, this is even worse, as these types of companies cannot be interested in honest work, as their purpose is to serve a particular agenda. One effective solution to deal with the issue of media's wrong influence is that the government should ensure that courts are independent and reputable. For instance, there should be a mechanism to sue dishonest media if their statements are untrue or libellous. This provides other companies and individuals with an opportunity to defend themselves and bring offenders to justice. Another possible answer for the same goal can be achieved through competition. If people have alternative sources of information, they are less likely to be misled, as they can compare different views from different media outlets and determine the truth for themselves. Unfortunately, this is not the case in authoritarian or totalitarian regimes, where the government controls both media and courts to serve their own needs. Nevertheless, there are always nonprofit organizations that expose lies and provide honest and independent information for the masses. To sum up, while the media indeed has a significant influence that can be used to its advantage, often by distorting news and events, these problems are not as significant if people have the opportunity to choose what they consume and how.