While many people go to university for academic study, more people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. Do you agree or disagree?

University education has become an important pathway for many people to gain real world experience and to enter into the job market. However, some people may argue that more people should be encouraged in vocational training such as electricians and plumbers instead of attending university due to the shortage of skilled workforce in those areas. In my opinion, there are pros and cons to both these notions. Academic study and experience gained from a university education can indeed shape a person to suit the world of work and to enter the highly competitive job market. There are so many opportunities for a person with a degree compared to a person with just training. But, that being said, practical knowledge is also highly important in every profession. As a solution to this, a lot of universities have incorporated practical aspect of their academics by sending students to 'placements' to gain experience and to see how real world works. This practical aspect of the academics can be seen in every degree at present. Nursing students go to hospitals to complete practical hours and to gain real world experience, engineering students go to relavent companies to gain experience, and etc. So that provides students with academics as well as vocational training they need when graduating. However, I agree with the notion that there is a lack of qualified workforce in areas such as electricians and plumbers which has caused a very high demand of people of these professions. While a lot of people struggle to enter a university, a very few number of people aim to go to a tertiary education institute that provides vocational training across areas such as electricians, plumbers, and mechanics. I believe that is mainly due to a lack of understanding about these professions and a majority of people preferring a university degree over a diploma or just vocational training. What people don't understand is that these professions are very demanding, especially in Australia, and that they can earn over 100 dollars an hour with that. Therefore, to conclude my argument, I believe more people should be encouraged to do vocational training and that it is important as much as a university degree. I think social media, advertising, and media could work to inspire more people to enrol for vocational training.