Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In many,countries men have to do military service for one or two years after finishing school. Some people think this should be compulsory for all countries and both sexes. Personally, I think it should not be compulsory but optional and in this,essay I will discuss some of the reasons I figure to support my opinion. One argument in favour of universal military is the ability to teach discipline-improving skills like teamwork and society fitting. People in favour also argue that it would help stop young people from doing crimes which is a growing problem in our societies nowadays. Regarding women, as they claim equality rights, it would be a good starting point. However, from my point of view, the female gender is more likely to conceive than to kill or fight. On the other hand, this compulsory system could lead to more violence and not all countries need to have so many people in the army. Nevertheless, being prepared for the unknown is always a good idea. Furthermore the maintenance cost of training such a large number of people would be huge. These days, there are alternatives to military service for youngsters such as community service programs after school hours, where their skills could be developed. In conclusion, while military service has its benefits, there are also negative aspects to consider. In addition, no peace was ever cultivated by preparing men for war. For this,reason I believe there are other ways of improving people ’s skills and good behavior.