There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides. (Discussion essay)

The rate at which serious crimes are increasing daily is alarming and detrimental to the safety of society, and hence to control such irresponsible acts serious punishments and penalties are to be implemented. Some argue that execution of the criminals /delinquents is the best solution to curb felony, while others argue that resorting to other punishments and penalties would help better. This essay discusses the rationale behind both the views. Some critics believe that prosecuting the criminals with a death penalty could not only send a strong message to society that whoever deliberately commits crime would not be let go with impunity, but also instil fear in the minds of offenders that would refrain them from committing sin, thereby substantially reducing or limiting/restricting the number of antisocial acts o violence, bloodshed and cold-blooded murders. This could be exemplified by the fall/sharp decline in crime rates in Iraq from 50 to 15 percent after government included the death penalty for punishing the offenders who defy law. Needless to say, extreme punishments, such as death sentence would warn the perpetrators who would neither become repeat offenders after serving their jail term nor commit crime as they would be gripped with fear or anxiety of losing their life. (Avoid being repetitive with your content) Having said that, some opine that slightly liberal punishments and penalties should be charged on the offenders depending on their crimes, thereby allowing them to reflect on their wrongdoings and undergo self-improvement. To be more precise, activities, such as community services, rehabilitating criminals, penalties and judicial sentence could be some punishments lesser intense than death penalty that could be imposed on criminals for their offences which would not only help maintain a balanced, fair, and just judiciary, but also give them adequate time as well as plentiful opportunities to realise the agony of separation and its impact on the victim, repent or regret,thereby proving to be extremely beneficial in reforming the offender’s lives in a positive way. This could be exemplified by the introduction of community services and penalties by the United States Government for liberal crimes like breaking the traffic rules or code of conduct in public places which are minor crimes, and so those who transcend law would be reformed. However, punishments could be case to case basis and hence and fair trial/just retribution is extremely crucial. To conclude, resorting to liberal punishments than execution for lesser intense crimes could help keep criminals in check and improve their lives; however, this is not justifiable for extreme serious and heinous crimes like rape, murder in which the offender should be coerced with death penalty which would stop every other person with criminal bent of mind to think twice before engaging in such acts of shame.