Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Millions of people are searching for job positions around the world. One of the most important things to have when applying for a job is a well-written resume. Some recruiters are interested in the applicant’s social skills while others think educational credentials are far more significant. Workplaces such as hospitals and airports require educational qualifications whereas other leisure places and companies depend more on social skills. Firstly, employers care greatly about the applicant’s social skills. For example, advertisement companies, restaurants and art galleries require people interactions. This is because almost every day in these places the employer will be put in a situation that compels him to act and socialize. Thus, workers must know how to talk and communicate properly. On the other hand, it is argued that educational background is what matters the most. Particularly because some jobs need certain types of knowledge and skills. For instance, job seekers need to have a certificate to be able to practice dentistry, pharmacology or even to fly a plane. Similarly, business, accounting, and finance specialities require a set of skills that are learned during taking the major in college. Therefore, academic qualifications are also vital for certain professions. In my opinion, I agree with both sides, Because I think it is beneficial to assess the job description, types of experiences, and skills needed to decide whether to focus on social skills or educational credentials. To sum up, some jobs require employees with social skills. Whereas other technical jobs need an employer with certain background knowledge. As a result, some employers argue that social skills are more significant. However, it is recommended that individuals constantly seek to improve their social skills as it is almost always important in every working sector.