Despite the rapid growth of economy, many adults today still cannot read or write. How does this affect their lives? What can government do to help them?

It is true, with the continuous development of the economy and education today, some people who cannot read and write have become a prominent problem. As a necessary skill in modern society, not being able to read and write will bring great obstacles and adverse effects on their employment and life, and the government should take more measures to solve these problems. The increase in illiteracy among adults and adolescents is very problematic. First of all, these citizens will find it difficult to find a job because of their lack of basic skills, and even if they have a suitable labour job, it is also difficult to improve their knowledge through self-study, which will further lead to their difficulty in promotion. At the same time, it will also bring a lot of trouble in daily life, for example, when taking the subway or bus, they can't read the text prompts, so it is easy to miss the platform. Finally, illiterates find it difficult to educate their children which would lead to educational disadvantages for their children. There are several measures that governments can take to address these problems mentioned above. The first approach concentrates on education which deserves more attention. For example, investment in adult schools in rural areas funded by the states could help reduce illiteracy rates among middle-aged and elderly residents in those areas. In addition, administrators are supposed to use ways that can be recognized by the illiterate, such as through radio to make them aware of the importance of literacy, which also can help to improve the difficult situation in which these adults are disadvantaged. The last method encourages the state government to consider the needs of these illiterate citizens when they construct the infrastructure, including adding more voice or image in subway stations to tell these disadvantaged individuals how to operate these basic facilities. In conclusion, the life and work of these people will be affected. The government should improve educational facilities, provide free education and publicize the importance of reading and writing to reduce the illiteracy rate and reduce the negative impact.