Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an open debate over what subjects should students choose at university. Some students prefer to dedicate their time and master only one field, while others try to explore different fields. I believe that taking courses in a wide range of disciplines is a more advantageous learning approach than focusing only on one subject because students develop their thinking abilities from many angles. Nevertheless, the latter approach also can be helpful when it comes to employment. On the one hand, proponents of sticking only with the main subject of their studies point out that it gives improved career opportunities in the future. Devoting all the time to one subject can help a student to perfect their skills and become an expert in it. Such a thorough focus can help to learn material deeply and not just a superficial knowledge of a subject. For example, a medical student may choose to specialize on treating brain cancer. Thus, if there is an open position for a brain cancer specialist, it is likely that this student would be accepted. For this reason, focusing on one subject gives a candidate an edge on a job market. On the other hand, an opportunity to be exposed to a variety of subjects teaches students new ideas. Studying different fields at university widens students horizon and brings new experiences. Students who have a wide range of skills can look at a problem from different perspectives and find the right way to approach it. For example, it wasn’t until group theory was used in a physics equation that electrical current was invented. This example shows how crucial it is to study all disciplines and not just focusing on one subject. In conclusion, though people may vary in their opinions, I am fimly convinced that having experiences in many fields is highly beneficial for students ’ education.