In many counties there is a shortage in suitable people for essential jods. What do you think are the cause of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Staff shortage is an issue that has been discussed by economists for a long time. Especially the lack of high-tech workers such as doctors, lawyers and engineers, and low-tech workers doing repetitive work. In this essay, I will illustrate the underlying reasons and offer some viable solutions. The shortage of high-tech workers is in part due to structure problems, which means the current educational system can not provide graduates in particular fields to the market. Most of the universities do not get enough support from the government and producing high-tech workers is expensive. One possible approach for the government is to offer additional budgets for those departments that are in line with the trend. One drawback is this might increase the tax pressure of individuals. Another main reason for staff shortage is people overestimate their ability. It can not be denied that contemporary students are better educated than they were in the past. People believe that they deserve a better job, thus, fewer people tend to take a menial or a repetitive job. A gap year of practice in the middle of college might help students recognize their true value, although this would require an extra year during college. The last, and perhaps the most pivotal factor, is the low wages of these jobs. This problem can not be solved in the short-term, however, the invisible hand of the free economic market will gradually increase the wages of essential jobs. By way of conclusion, staff shortage can not be solved right away. However, I believe that revising the strategy of distributing extra budget, recognizing self value and high wages are necessary to resolve this problem.