Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People hold conflicting views about whether food science and cooking skills are supposed to be taught at school or not. While many people assume that learning these subjects is essential to students, I believe that they should concentrate on the important ones. On the one hand, there are several reasons why culinary science should be included in the academic curriculum. The first reason is that children acquiring knowledge of food can be more independent in cooking. To be more specific, since children can prepare a meal without any support, they might take care of themselves well when they no longer live with their parents. Another reason is that students can understand the nutritional value of each type of food. Therefore, they would know which food is beneficial to them and develop a healthier diet. On the other hand, I still hold the view that major subjects should be prioritized in education. Firstly, such subjects are the foundation for student’s careers, which could help them have more job opportunities. In particular, most employers prefer a person having a good academic background, thus, a lack of knowledge would reduce their chance of being admitted to a company. In addition, students nowadays have to study many subjects so forcing them to study unimportant ones may increase the burden and pressure on them. Hence, focusing solely on significant subjects may be the best approach for students to give the best performance. In conclusion, it is thought that learning specifically about food can have a number of positive effects on students, however, it seems to me that widening their knowledge of main subjects is adequate for them to progress in their future careers.