Employers should focus on personal qualities of qualifications and experience when choosing someone for job. To what extent do you agree?

Personal qualities and experience must be considered by employers when taking someone for a position. In fact, I agree with that statement for two reasons. Firstly, a company which open some job vacancies will announce their needs specially position with various general requirement. For instance, an engineering position is only for someone who has a major in that field. It does not make sense if employers will choose applicants from accountancy because it is much different. Besides that, most departments or organisations require ability in academics. To illustrate this condition, I will take Pertamina, one of the biggest oil producers in Indonesia. Pertamina gives a target that the person who will become their employee must have a minimum GPA of 3.0. It can be proven by showing their study transcript that is compatible with the vacancies. Secondly, fresh graduates can apply for the job vacancy, indeed experiences will be considered by the company as an advantage. Consequently, the company does not need to spend more money to train the candidate. But, in some cases, the applicants who have many experiences will ask bigger salary than a new candidate. I believe that this is a crucial point for the companies to define and decide in the final announcement. For example, the biggest bank in Indonesia, Bank Indonesia has a recruitment program, namely ODP (Orientation Development Program). In the program, Bank Indonesia will give a chance not only new employees who have experience but also fresh graduates. There is no gap between the two categories of employees. It is given because Bank Indonesia will make sure that they have the same ability and competency to begin their job. Finally, in conclusion, I believe that both qualifications and experiences are huge crucial for institutions and become a determining factor of success.