Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes(for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood, or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals think that it is beneficial for students at high school to have a compulsory course regarding the unpaid communit service. I personally agree with this statement, as young people will develop some necessary skills in early ages. This essay will argue some of the advantages of my view along with one disadvantage. The main reason why many people claim that working for community service freely should be a compulsory course at high school is developing social interaction outside their school. This is because of the fact that children spend significant amount of time at school and there are some benefits to interact with other people in a different environment. Therefore, through this compulsory course they are forced to obtain the necessary skills for work in the future. Another key reason would be developing empathy. In other words, they will understand how to help other people without getting money form them and they can develop this feeling along with their peers at school. Therefore, they will probably be more successful at job in the future by having this course in school. On the other hand, however, some people argue that young people need to play and have fun. This is because they claim that children need to have fun and play with their peers instead of taking responsibility at this early age in a charity, for example. Additionally, working along studying may have some negative effects on their mental health because they are likely to feel tired most of the time. In conclusion, while having a compulsory course on working in a community service freely in high school brings some benefits such as developing social interaction and empathy, there are also some drawbacks such as a lack of play. Personally I believe, it is helpful to have unpaid community service course during high school.