University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays focusing on one particular subject has become a common trend among undergraduates. However many individuals think apart from their main subject, students should be motivated to learn a few other subjects by their education institutes. I completely disagree with this view because not only adding more subjects can incline their workload but also it can be depressing to the students also. To begin with, in the present days studying one major subject is substantially demanding because the content of these courses is much more. Even though students study hard, some are still struggling to get past one subject which requires a higher workload. So adding more subjects could be detrimental to them. For example, medical students have a sizeable amount of studying in their curriculum which is crucial because the responsibility they get is vital. Thus studying another subject can be demanding and time-consuming. Therefore,in my opinion, I think focusing on their main subject is better than adding more. Moreover, studying many topics at once can increase stress which can later lead to pressing problems like depression. Not all students are the same because their mental capacity, and coping mechanisms vary from one another. Although some may find learning straightforward, there are others on the contrary. Adding more demand on these students can be depressing to them. For instance, there were some suicidal reports among medical students simply because they could not handle the pressure which was caused by the inability to cope with the mental stress. Thus I tend to disagree with the mentioned statement. In conclusion, adding more subjects to undergrads could lead to an increase in their workload which is already at a tipping point and it could increase their stress levels leading to detrimental events like suicide, thus I totally disagree with the statement of universities should motivate students to learn extra subjects other than their main streams.