The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime. Why do you think that is? Do you think the news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

Accidents, crime, wars, and famines are the most common topics for the majority of news even though they are awful. I believe this is because that industry is like a company that needed revenues however I think that both kinds must be reported because good news brings happiness and relief to the viewers. News channels are like businesses so profits are also important to them. Bad news has more impact and evokes more emotions in viewers which were remembered easily. The more audience, the higher the revenue of the company and able to provide income to their employees. For example, in the last decades, news reporters often argued that whoever reports the big issues first will have higher revenues. However, those scenarios no longer happened because of the developments on the internet since everyone can now create posts about anything. On the one hand, newspapers and news channels must report both bad and good news because people nowadays are looking for something that could make them smile and relieve after working so long. For example, updates about athletes who won in their respective competitions and tournaments could spark pride and inspiration in the viewers. This kind of approach greatly benefited them since this could help them to continue their lives despite the difficulty that they are facing. In conclusion, bad news catches more attention and so it produces higher income for the company rather than reporting only the negative. I think there must be both kinds of reports as a positive report inspires and gives happiness to the watchers.