It is important for people to take risks, in both their professional lives and personal lives. Do the advantages of taking these risks outweigh the disadvantages?

It is important for people to take risks, in both their professional lives and personal lives. Do the advantages of taking these risks outweigh the disadvantages? On no account should the consequences of taking a reckless risk such as the loss of a job be ignored. However, hardly do people realize the impact of calculated risks on their future life. Many people gamble on the opportunity when they apply for a job or study and those who are lucky enough will never regret their choice. That is why I am convinced that the merits of taking the risks outweigh the demerits if and only if the possibilities are thoroughly considered. This essay will first discuss the minuses of taking thoughtless risks. Secondly, it will be followed by pluses of making risky yet reasonable decisions. On the one hand, the major disadvantage of taking a risk is not thinking about it before. That is why taking a risk is often considered as a bad condition by society. For example, 10 per cent of people in the USA spend a lot of money on gambling. However, the principal advantage of taking a risk is that it gives more opportunities. This is because the harder achivement is to get the better is the reward. For example, most of the people choose to apply for a tertiary study to foreign counrties as they often allow better education in particular fields of study. For many people such a decision is risky; they need to leave their hometown, family and friends. Despite this, the skills they get in the institution are worthy the risk. Thus, such calculated risks are strictly beneficial overall. In conclusion, I am sure that every risk should follow a reasonable argument for the decision. And only if the argument is strong enough then taking the risk is truly beneficial.