The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is commonly argued that the main motive of science should be directed at ensuring the well-being of humans. I partially agree with this notion because other creatures like animals and plants should also be considered. On the one hand, it appears to me that human existence needs to be given priority for three reasons. Firstly, quite a number of people are still suffering from ailments like cancer and the ebola virus, which subsequently leads to their death. As a result, if scientists can discover drugs that are capable of treating these diseases it will make life better for individuals. Secondly, most individuals in the remote village are still residing where there is no network to connect with friends and family, therefore, the provision of telecommunication cables in this area would help them live a comfortable lifestyle. Lastly, Most of our modes of transportation like roads, trains are still not well developed to enable the common man to commute his goods. Hence, human lives need to be ranked first with regard to scientific innovations. However, it may be necessary to consider other inhabitants like crops and animals. Nowadays, plants are being destroyed by pests which affect their productivity. If genetic engineering can modify their DNA, it will make them resistant to insects and increase their yields. Again, animals in the zoo are being threatened by infections, and these are easily transmitted among themselves. The provision of appropriate pharmaceutical drugs by pharmacists and their administration by zoologists would reduce this incidence. In short, not only humans need technological intervention. In conclusion, while I agree that human lives should be improved by technologists, it would also be nice if the same gesture is extended to other living things.