In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, people leave their hometowns in search of better career opportunities. Quite often, they relocate to large metropolises where infrastructure is highly developed. In my opinion, even though this tendency improves prospects for an individual, there are problems related to this migration. In this essay, the drawbacks related to this issue are discussed such as the inability to find enough qualified workers and the contamination of enivironment. Firstly, the flow of people from regional to big cities has a negative impact on the economy of the former ones. The lack of qualified specialists in small cities prevents the growth of the economy and negatively affects the development of a city. For example, in France, in search of better tertiary education, students prefer to enrol in universities located in large megapolises, leaving their home areas. As a result, rural areas suffer an insufficient number of highly educated specialists. Therefore, the migration of people from lower to densely populated cities puts a strain on the economy. Secondly, an inflow of people from rural to urban areas negatively impacts overall well-being. An increased number of vehicles producing carbon dioxide contaminates the air, worsening the quality of life. In a case study, research has revealed that in the particular areas of Moscow the quality of the air is far below the standard. Additionally, in densely populated cities, streets and public transport are overcrowded, making it difficuilt to commute to work. For these reasons, migration exacerbates the existing problems in urban lifestyle. In conclusion, while this tendency is imminent, it brings challenging problems to people living in big cities.