Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer-based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

In recent years there has been a shift among secondary and university students away from traditional sciences towards IT-based subjects. While there are various reasons why this is happening, I personally consider it to be a change for the worse. The increased number of students prioritising computer-based subjects is unsurprising given how many opportunities exist for those who work in the field of information technology. While physicians, biologists, and engineers are hardly making a living, despite their long-term commitment and dedication, people whose career is related to IT or AI are working much fewer hours and still earning a great deal of money. In fact, Jef Bezos, Mark Zuckerberg, and other famous personalities who have relied on computer technology to earn billions of dollars have directed many young minds towards this field of study. Simply put, a career in the area of IT appears to be a safer pathway compared to one in science, which requires hard work and greater responsibility but brings less financial rewards and social prestige in return. As the popularity of IT-based subjects continues to rise at the expense of traditional sciences, several related problems can be anticipated. Scientists play a crucial role in improving and maintaining quality of life in every community by stretching the limits of our imagination and pushing boundaries of what is possible. They improve our medicines to cure deadly diseases, invent new vaccines against contagious infections, design electric cars to save the environment, enhance agricultural processes to cope with global hunger, improve construction processes to combat homelessness- this list is endless if we want to determine the importance of science and those who work in this sector. A fall in the popularity of sciences means a fall in the number of people, who would greatly contribute to our progress and prosperity. In conclusion, the burgeoned popularity of computer-based subjects is understandable given the significance of the computing industry in today’s world. However, this is a worrying trend since it comes at the expense of traditional science subject