More and more people today are moving away from where their friends and family live. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, we have witnessed an increasing amount of people leaving their hometowns, away from their family members and friends. In my opinion, the advantages in terms of personal growth outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, there are significant merits for people to move away in exchange for individual development. Primarily, people often make the life-changing decision to relocate from their hometown to a metropolis for better job opportunities. First-tier cities offer much better career prospects and more rewarding salaries. Furthermore, the fast-paced urban scene is a huge appeal to individuals who simply prefer the hustle and bustle. Additionally, some children grow up with controlling family relationships, which are full of manipulation and even violence. Therefore, getting away from this toxicity is the best choice for these youngsters. On the other hand, migrating away from parents and friends exerts negative impacts on individuals and their social bonds. Firstly, it is common to grow homesick and endure solitude and isolation. For example, there are numerous press reporting international students experiencing depression as they live apart from loved ones and cannot fit in with foreign cultures. If not handled well, the sense of alienation could transfer into severe mental health issues. Secondly, with no one to attend to them, their parents are unaccompanied and oftentimes feel stranded, which is detrimental to the well-being of the elderly. In conclusion, those who are desperate for better career development and relief from controlling parents can benefit from this decision, but it also creates problems regarding mental well-being and their family bonds. I personally believe tolerating temporary solitude for personal growth as a trade-off is worthwhile, because new social connections can be built, and cities need an input of talent to fuel economic development.