Nowadays children mostly spend time playing computer games rather than sports. What is the reason for this? it is a negative or positive development?

Technological advances in children’s entertainment have been spread widely, and it is quite addicting. However, the reason offspring prefer playing video games rather than sports is the convenience of playing digital games. This essay will elaborate on the negative impacts caused by this phenomenon. The main cause of kids’ addiction to playing video games is they give kids satisfaction and end up as addiction. Although kids sit in front of their computers all day, they are satisfied without getting tired physically. For example, my twelve-years nephew could spend three hours in a row playing his PS5 and only took a 10-minute (adjective) break to eat, and started again. The great visuals and movement provide players with great gaming experiences. Meanwhile, the satisfaction comes from levelling up and it triggers children to play until reach the highest level. Thus, it is hindering children to play outside like people did 20 years ago. Indeed, this is a negative development for children’s growth phase. Moreover, this age range is the perfect period to learn and exercise their body such as in gymnastics, basket, or ballet. Because of their addiction to the digital world, they could not achieve this golden period. For instance, there is a viral video showing a child screaming because his mother took the computer before he finished his school task. It is the best representative of the negative impact that children could have. Consequently, the child’s health will undeveloped and could not follow real-life activities. In conclusion, the convenience and satisfaction of playing video games play a pivotal role in children’s activity preference. Therefore, unless parents take full control of their kids’ activities, they will have several issues in health and growth aspects.