Many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is true that over the last 10 years, more and more adults tend to send their parents to care homes when they reach a certain age. In this essay, I will discuss the perceived benefits and drawbacks of this tendency. One of the pros of this trend is that by sending the elderly to nursing homes families can lessen their daily expenses because taking care of grandparents can be costly and expensive; therefore, by doing that they can save an amount of money which can be spent on other stuff such as paying for children's education. Moreover, the cost of living has increased a lot, so both parents have to work in order to meet their basic needs; thus, old people will be left alone and some of them can't even take care of themselves; hence, it would be best to take them to care houses, for example, a survey done in London about care home revealed that the elderly are satisfied with the services that they receive there. Despite the obvious appeal, there are various cons to this tendency, first of all, by putting the elderly away from home, children will have no one to take care of them, as a consequence, parents are forced to hire someone to do this task for them which means extra charges. Secondly, old traditions and values may get lost amongst the new generations as no one will be there to pass it to them and one of the reasons for that is the fact that kids have zero contact with their grandparents. To conclude, as I have discussed in this essay, there are a variety of advantages and disadvantages to this tendency.