It is important for children to learn the differences between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishments should parents and the teachers are allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Punishment is regarded as a helpful way to discipline children and make them aware of the difference between their Correct and incorrect behavior since they are not too grown. Although this upbringing method can be of high value And grant children’s bright future, I believe it can also raise several behavioral disorders, if it is done inappropriately. This essay will analyze both merits and demerits of punishment and suggest some appropriate sanctions. On the one hand, punishment can be beneficial since it can instill children values which can provide them with a bright future. To begin with, sanctions instill a sense of responsibility into children. Knowing the fact that their Inappropriate actions can have consequences, children watch their behaviors more vigilantly. For instance, having to earn and return money after shoplifting, children would be more responsible and avoid inappropriate manners. Moreover, when children are being punished by their parents, perceive the fact that some profound actions have Irreversible consequences so, when they are grown-ups they are less likely to do intense mistakes which can deteriorate their life. For example, students who dropped out of school due to cheating, understand how intense some mistakes can be in life so when they are getting older, they are less likely to commit a crime. On the other hand, the negative effects of inappropriate punishments on children’s self-esteem and risk-taking ability can not be neglected. In the very first place, arduous punishments such as corporal ones can lead to the impairment of children’s confidence, and the stricter the punishment is, the more children’s confidence is impaired. Lack of Confidence exerts acute problems in children’s social interaction either in society or the workplace. To add to it, considering the negative effects of their actions on their mind, children would not be able to step out of their comfort zones and take risks. They are deprived of a fearless life in which they are not afraid of tasting new ways. So, it can be said that they are probably not suitable for jobs such as self-employed jobs. The type of punishment should be chosen with caution and comprehensive knowledge since as mentioned before any mistake in this realm can lead to severe damage to the child’s mental well-being. For example, parents can restrict Their children from either watching their favorite program or playing their favorite video games when they behave Badly. Moreover, teachers can force students to apologize in front of their classmates in order to make them feel embarrassed which can act as a deterrent for repeating their mistakes. To conclude, punishment can have both benefits and drawbacks on children’s upbringing, and in my opinion, due to the fact that inaccurate sanctions can have detrimental effects on children’s mental health. It is vital to consider that a considerable amount of awareness should be employed when it comes to choosing the type of punishments.