Unemployment is one of the most serious problems facing developed nations today. What are the advantages and/or disadvantages of reducing the working week to thirty five hours?

In most developed countries, unemployment has become a common situation. Some people argue that we should reduce working time to thirty-five hours every week. I accept that this action has many advantages, although it would lead to some troubles. If people work fewer working hours on a weekly basis, they are likely to spend more time on their favourite activities or hanging out with their family members. For example, citizens could have a fancy dinner with children instead of working overtime in the companies. More spare time is beneficial for them to stay motivated in their work so that the company’s productivity would be promoted. If the companies are able to make more profit, they may employ more people. Therefore, reducing the working week can help address the problem of unemployment. Another benefit is that fewer working hours would lead to an increase in consumption. As workers have more time to allocate, they tend to take a vacation or eat out. These would have a positive effect on the development of the social economy. With the trend, people could be provided more employment opportunities. On the other hand, this action may have an adverse effect on factories. Because workers are unable to produce the same amount of goods as before, factories have to employ more people and increase operating costs. They are likely to go bankrupt due to this action, and as a result, unemployment will grow. In conclusion, reducing the working weekday is helpful to decrease unemployment while it has an influence on the cost of operating a factory.