In many places, large amounts of food are wasted. What might be the reasons for this problem? What can best be done to reduce food waste

It is obvious that although hundreds of inhabitants suffer from famine, a significant amount of food is wasted by developed countries all over the world. From my perspective, understanding the causes of this pressing issue is important and several measures should be taken to encourage people to reduce their excessive consumption. It can be clearly seen that there are various compelling reasons why people have an upward trend in consuming too much food nowadays. The obvious cause is that in today’s modern society, prices of food are extremely reasonable. The most important evidence supporting my belief is that thanks to advanced agricultural technologies, people increase both the quality and quantity of cultivated crops. Specifically, the way food is stored and distributed to the consumers is pretty easy with inexpensive prices, consequently a remarkable number of consumers purchase that food and waste it without thinking. Moreover, another cause of this problem is that governments lack strict regulations and heavy fines for wasting food. To be more precise, awareness about consuming too much can be incorrect with people, so they might have difficulty in preventing cravings and consuming food without control unless they don’t be deterred by the laws. For example, some countries reduce their excessive consumption after local authorities enact laws and fine heavily for anyone who breaks the rule such as China. This thorny problem should be dealt with by some solutions to stimulate people to decrease their food demands. The first measure would be for restaurants to make consumers think about what dishes they order. This can be done by imposing heavy fines when people order too much but can not finish them. As an illustration of this, in buffet restaurants, when consumers take a remarkable amount of food but not eat it, they will have to be fined by paying extra for the food that they order. Furthermore, another important measure is that local authorities should launch some campaigns to raise people ’s awareness. For instance, it is necessary to display consequences they have to suffer from when wasting food, especially in the pandemic of Covid 19, it is very difficult for people to purchase fresh and nutritious food. In conclusion, this issue is ascribed to a number of causes such as cheapness in food’s prices and lack of vital knowledge when consuming too much, so it is necessary for both individuals and governments to propose ways to reinforce people in consuming food with suitable levels