Taxes are imposed on private cars by government to solve the traffic problem and also to improve public transport. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

It is often believed that people have to pay the tax on cars they own, so the government can get rid of the traffic issues on the roads and make public transportation convenient. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of the development made by the official bodies. On the one hand, tax imposition on the locals who can afford a personal vehicle can provide sufficient funds to the country to build infrastructure for metros and railways, these means of transport will provide relief to the lower-class, in this age of inflation. For instance, all around the UK people use public transport, not because they cannot afford cars, but because it saves them time and money. In other words, using buses and metros to travel is one of the similarities in all the developed countries. Therefore, encouraging its use can be beneficial for developing countries as well. On the other hand, by imposing heavy taxes on vehicles it becomes difficult for any middle-class individual to enjoy the luxury of owning a car, which can be unfair to those who live in areas far from the cities and do not have access to local buses. For instance, if someone lives 15km away from the station, there is no way to make it to work or university every day on time without feeling exhausted even before starting the day. As a result, this affects the progress and efficiency of individuals. To conclude, where taxes can be of benefit to the nation and a certain group of folks, but those who face the drawbacks of these policies must not be ignored. However, extreme measures are not good for a country which is already surviving to exist, so rules should be flexible to meet personal needs.